The OGP Eligibility Criteria update for 2014 released

Eligibility to join OGP is determined by evaluations of countries’ performance in four critical areas of  open   government:    fiscal transparency, access to information, asset disclosure  and citizen engagement.

The OGP Eligibility Criteria update for  2014 has now been released. Many countries saw their scores   change over the last year. The scoring of the asset disclosure metric was revised this year by  the OGP Steering Committee on the recommendation of the World  Bank. The  revised metric  is a more straightforward assessment of the legal framework      in  place for declaration of assets

OGP Eligibility metric  will award  two points  to countries  with an  Asset Disclosure Law, and two additional  points  to countries with an Asset Disclosure Law requiring  any degree  of public  access.  Zero points are awarded for  countries  with no  law  on  asset disclosure

Scores of member countries was released as well. Georgia got 15 points out of 16. The only criteria where Georgia got 3 out of 4 is citizen  engagement.


A total of  six countries are eligible to join OGP for the  first time. Those   countries  are Angola, Bhutan, Guyana, Luxembourg,   Namibia and Nigeria.

Including  the newly  eligible countries there are now 28 countries eligible to participate in   OGP, but  have not joined.   These are:

1.  Angola

2. Austria

3. Belgium

4. Bhutan

5. Cape            Verde

6. Ethiopia

7. Germany

8. Guyana

9. Iceland

10. India

11. Jamaica

12. Japan

13. Kyrgyz       Republic

14. Luxembourg

15. Namibia

16. Nepal

17. Nicaragua

18. Nigeria

19. Pakistan

20. Papua        New     Guinea

21. Poland

22. Portugal

23. Russia

24. Slovenia

25. Switzerland

26. Thailand

27. Uganda

28. Venezuela

To be eligible, countries  must earn 75% of   the possible  points. 14   countries  are currently close to eligibility. These   countries earn 60%  to  75% of  the  applicable points.

1. Bangladesh (68.8%)

2. Belize (66.7%)

3. Bolivia (68.8%)

4. Ecuador (68.8%)

5. Guinea (66.7%)

6. Kazakhstan (68.8%)

7. Malaysia (62.5%)

8. Morocco (68.8%)

9. Mozambique (68.8%)

10. Niger (62.5%)

11. Senegal (62.5%)

12. Sri  Lanka (68.8%)

13. Timor-Leste (62.5%)

14. Zambia (62.5%)

17 OGP  participating    countries  improved  their    scores.  For  13 of    these  countries (indicated  by an asterisk), the   increase in  scores   is partly  or  entirely due  to  the revisions in  the  asset disclosure  metric.

. Armenia*

2. Denmark*

3. Dominican  Republic*

4. El     Salvador

5. Estonia*

6. Finland*

7. Greece*

8. Hungary

9. Kenya*

10. Malawi*

11. Mexico*

12. Netherlands*

13. Peru*

14. Serbia*

15. Sierra         Leone

16. Spain*

17. Tunisia

El Salvador, Hungary and Tunisia improved their budget transparency score following  recent  data     from Open   Budget Survey managed  by the International   Budget Partnership.Sierra Leone passed  the Right to Access  to  Information     Act in 2013,   increasing  its  score  in  this metric.

Five  OGP  participating    countries have    decreased  scores   without affecting  their  eligibility.  For  Colombia, France,   Honduras, Malta,  and  Ukraine,  the decrease   in scores   is  due to  the revision in  the asset disclosure  metric. For       Indonesia, a decrease in  its EIU Civil Liberties score    resulted  in  a one-point drop  in their overall score.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s